Routes & Maps

Best route planning software for meal delivery (2026)

Meal delivery means many short stops in a tight window, food that can't wait, and customers who want to know when it will arrive. Volume often swings by day, and many businesses take orders online. The right tool depends on your volume and on where your orders come from.

What meal delivery need from route planning software

Our picks

Five tools for meal delivery, in the order we'd suggest them.

Onfleet

Best for

Larger prepared-meal operations

Names prepared meals among the deliveries it powers, with photo and signature proof, ETA notifications and unlimited users from its first plan, which starts at $619 a month.

Pricing: From $619 a month for 2,500 tasks; unlimited users

Routific

Best for

Meal businesses selling through Shopify

Free up to 100 orders a month, then per order, with unlimited drivers, a Shopify connection, email updates and a tracking link. SMS is a paid add-on.

Pricing: Free up to 100 orders a month; $150 a month flat up to 1,000; then per order

Routes & Maps vs Routific

Spoke Dispatch (Circuit for Teams)

Best for

Meal businesses that want SMS included

Priced by stops with unlimited drivers, with SMS and email notifications, a tracking page and Shopify on every plan.

Pricing: From $125 a month for 1,000 stops, billed monthly; unlimited drivers

Routes & Maps vs Circuit

Routes & Maps

Best for

Meal businesses that import orders and want a flat price

Import orders from CSV or Excel, optimize with time windows, and give customers a live tracking page. Unlimited drivers and users, so busy-day drivers cost nothing extra. No SMS or Shopify connection today.

Pricing: Monthly plans by stops, from $150 a month billed annually ($187 monthly); unlimited drivers and users on every plan

See Routes & Maps plans

Track-POD

Best for

Meal businesses with more than one kitchen

Lists multiple hubs and depots, SMS or email notifications, and photo, signature and scan proof.

Pricing: $49 per driver a month billed annually ($59 monthly), minimum 3 drivers; or from $510 a month for 3,000 orders

Summary

ToolPricing modelProof of deliveryCustomer notificationsFree trial
OnfleetPer taskPhoto and signatureStatus and ETA notifications14 days
RoutificPer orderPhotos, signatures, barcodes, notesEmail and tracking link; SMS add-onFree plan up to 100 orders
Spoke Dispatch (Circuit for Teams)Per stopSignature and photosSMS and emailYes (length not stated)
Routes & MapsFlat monthly plan by stopsPhoto, signature and notesTracking page; email from Growth plan and up; no SMS7 days
Track-PODPer driver or per orderPhotos, signatures, scansSMS or emailYes (length not stated)

How to choose

  1. Decide where orders come from

    If you sell on Shopify, a tool with a Shopify connection saves an import each day. Otherwise, a spreadsheet import works.

  2. Decide on SMS

    Many meal customers expect a text. Check whether SMS is included, a paid add-on, or not offered.

  3. Price it at today's volume and next year's

    Tools charge per driver, per user, per order or per stop. Work out the monthly cost at your current volume and at the size you expect to be, including any add-ons you would need, such as SMS.

  4. Test with a real week of stops

    Use the free trial with your own addresses, time windows and drivers. Compare the drive time, how long planning takes each morning, and how drivers get on with the app.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best route planner for meal delivery?

For a large prepared-meal operation, Onfleet is built for it. For a smaller business, Routific (with Shopify) and Spoke Dispatch (with SMS included) are strong choices; Routes & Maps suits teams that import orders and want a flat monthly price.

How much does meal delivery route planning cost?

From free (Routific, up to 100 orders a month) to $619 a month and up (Onfleet). Small team? We price by stops, not drivers. If our standard plans are more than you need, talk to sales about a Custom plan sized to your monthly stops.

Can I connect my online store?

Routific and Spoke Dispatch list Shopify connections. Routes & Maps does not; orders come in by CSV or Excel import, and the column layout is remembered.

Can customers track their delivery?

Yes, with all five tools in some form. Routes & Maps gives customers a live tracking page showing where the driver is and when to expect them.

What about busy days with extra drivers?

Routes & Maps, Routific, Spoke Dispatch and Onfleet don't charge per driver, so extra drivers on busy days don't add to the bill.

See how your own routes plan

Import your stops and plan an optimized route with your real addresses.

Competitor details checked October 2026 on each company's own website. Verify on their website before buying.

Product names are trademarks of their respective owners.